WIMG Woman of the Year Awards - Call for Nominations

Deadline for Nominations is August 15th!

Oklahoma’s Women in Municipal Government (WiMG) group was established in 2018. The original steering committee approved the creation of the inaugural Woman of the Year Awards to be presented at the Oklahoma Municipal League’s Awards Banquet in 2019. This award will recognize outstanding women who have made significant contributions to their community through their role in municipal government.

The Woman of the Year Awards recognizes two categories:

  • Populations of 5,000 and over

  • Populations of fewer than 5,000.

Criteria for consideration:

  • Must currently hold an elected municipal office or be employed with an Oklahoma municipal government

  • Applicant’s municipality must be a member of the Oklahoma Municipal League.

Those meeting the criteria may apply for consideration. A committee of WiMG members will make the selection for the Woman of the Year awards.

The selection committee will review each application and select finalists. The finalists will be notified of their selection and will be recognized at the WiMG reception at the OML statewide conference on Tuesday, September 17, 2019 in downtown Tulsa. The winners of the Woman of the Year Awards will be presented at the OML Awards Banquet the evening of Thursday, September 19, 2019 in Tulsa.

The deadline to submit applications is August 15, 2019. Only materials received prior to the deadline will be considered by the judges. Completed applications should be sent electronically to Jodi Lewis: jlewis@oml.org.

Christy Christoffersen